I’m happy that we have a quality fellow who has taken the long route to AFL Senior Coach level and I’m grateful that he has decided to join us. I liked him as a player at Geelong… he was one of those straight-backed players, if you take my meaning. SHAYNE BREUER was one too (I was there for that goal!). The fact that he is dressed appropriately for the occasion also speaks volumes to me. Other related appointments were…

• ALAN RICHARDSON – DIRECTOR OF COACHING & STRATEGY.

• DARREN BURGESS – HIGH PERFORMANCE MANAGER.

• ANGUS MONFRIES – will join the Port Adelaide Football Club from 2013 under a trade deal with Essendon which will see the talented first round draft pick return home to South Australia with a wealth of AFL experience.

This would seem to be a good day for the Port Adelaide Football Club. Thank goodness for small mercies.

The club’s website has much more here.

